水足跡 ─ 背景

水足跡是一個創新的概念,可以幫助公眾了解我們的日常消費如何對珍貴的淡水資源產生影響。這個概念可促進公眾了解我們的購物習慣與世界逐漸減少的淡水資源之間的連繫。

 

本計劃旨在將國際公認的水足跡概念本地化,讓香港市民意識到自身日常起居飲食的消費習慣與全球水資源消耗的潛藏關連。 透過認識此概念,公眾可以採取個人及集體行動減少水足跡,為水資源的可持續使用作出貢獻。

 

水足跡是什麼?

水足跡是一個用水指標。這個指標涵蓋直接用水和間接用水。直接用水是指人們日常生活中實際的用水。間接用水則是指商品生產過程中所消耗的水資源。

WaterFootPrint-Chi-01

虛擬水

水足跡是從虛擬水 (Virtual Water) 概念衍生出來的,意指農糧產品及各種消費品在生產過程中所消耗的水資源。由於這些用水不會成為最終產品的一部份,因此稱之為虛擬水。水足跡概念是透過揭示這些「隱藏用水」,讓我們瞭解到日常消費習慣與水資源之間的關聯。

 

水足跡的

水足跡是一個多層面指標,除了代表產品的虛擬水含量,還顯示產品水足跡的構成,如水源類型、耗用的地點和時間。

 

水足跡由三部份組成,分別是綠水足跡丶藍水足跡和灰水足跡。綠水足跡是農作物生長過程中耗用的雨水,例如蘊藏在土壤中的雨水被農作物吸取後因蒸發散而流失,或變成植物的一部份;藍水足跡是生產過程中所耗用的地表水或地下水,例如抽取河水去灌溉農田;而灰水足跡是指稀釋生產過程中排放的污染,以達至符合周邊水體的水質標準所需之水量。其中,綠水足跡和藍水足跡代表從自然環境中擷取的淡水資源;而灰色水足跡則代表污染物對自然水體造成的負擔。因此,水足跡是同時估量水資源消耗和污染的狀況的指標。

WF calculator intro_components-1
water_footprint_green

綠色水足跡
在生產過程中耗用的雨水資源總量

WF calculator intro_components-2
water_footprint_blue

藍色水足跡
在生產過程中耗用的地表及地下水資源的總量

WF calculator intro_components-3
water_footprint_grey

灰色水足跡
在生產過程中用於稀釋污染物所需的水量

Background

Water Footprint is an innovative concept that helps us understand how our day-to-day consumption decisions have far reaching impacts on precious freshwater resources.  This concept helps us visualize and understand the many connections between our buying habits and our world’s shrinking freshwater bodies.

 

Developing a localised version of the internationally recognised concept of Water Footprint will help raise the public awareness of the many hidden connections between their consumption habits and distant freshwater bodies.  Informed by this new understanding, one can then take personal and collective actions to reduce the size of Water Footprint, and thus the extent of its impacts, to contribute to water sustainability goals.

 

What is Water Footprint?
Water Footprint is an indicator of water use.  It measures both direct and indirect water use.  Direct water use refers to the amount of water consumed directly by us on a daily basis.  Indirect water use refers to water resources that have been used up in the production processes of the commodities we purchase and consume.

WaterFootPrint-Eng-01

Virtual water
The basic building block of Water Footprint is the concept of virtual water, which is the total amount of water used up to produce agricultural produce and other commodities.  This water is said to be virtual – because it is used up in the various stages of the production process and is no longer contained in the final product. By revealing this “hidden” water, the Water Footprint concept enhances our understanding of the many connections between our consumption habits and freshwater resources.

 

Components of Water Footprint

Water Footprint is a multidimensional indicator.  In addition to presenting the virtual water content of a product, it also tells us the composition of a product’s Water Footprint in regard to the types of water consumed in the production process, as well as the spatial and temporal dimensions of that consumption.

 

Water Footprint captures the total amount of water used up in the various stages of a production process of a commodity. The three components of Water Footprint – green, blue, and grey – delineate the source of water used. Green Water Footprint is water brought onto the production sites by rain and other types of precipitation, and consumed through evapotranspiration or becoming part of the plants. Blue Water Footprint refers to water sourced from surface water bodies, such as rivers and lakes as well as groundwater aquifers. For example, river water is extracted to irrigate farmlands. Grey Water Footprint is the amount of freshwater required to dilute pollution arising from the production process, and return water quality to ambient standards. Blue and Green Water Footprint are consumptive water use while Grey Water Footprint is an indicator of the degree of freshwater pollution. In a nutshell, Water Footprint is a volumetric measure of both water consumption and pollution.

 

WF calculator intro_components-1
water_footprint_green

Green Water Footprint

Amount of rainwater used up in the production process

WF calculator intro_components-2
water_footprint_blue

Blue Water Footprint

Amount of surface water and groundwater used up in the production process

WF calculator intro_components-3
water_footprint_grey

Grey Water Footprint

Amount of freshwater needed to dilute pollution drained from the production process