HKU Home Campus Map HKU Portal Employment Contact Us facebook instagram youtube

Academic Matters

Dean's Honour List and Honours Classification

Dean’s Honour List

To recognize students’ outstanding academic achievements, students who meet the following criteria will be recommended by the Board of Examiners for inclusion within the Dean’s Honours List annually:

  1. The Yearly GPA cut-off point for the Dean’s Honours List should be 3.6; and
  2. Students have to complete successfully at least 48 credits with letter grades in a specified academic year (excluding summer semester). As such exchange out students would not be eligible for recommendation of the Dean’s Honours List.

Honours Classification

Upon completion of all graduation requirements, students shall be awarded the degree in one of the five classification of honours, determined by the Board of Examiners for the degree, in accordance with the following Cumulative GPA scores (for students admitted in the 2012-2013 academic year and thereafter) / Graduation GPA scores (for students admitted in the 2017-2018 academic year and thereafter), with all courses taken (including failed courses):

Class of Honours CGPA/GGPA range
First Class Honours 3.60 – 4.30
Second Class Honours (2.40 – 3.59)
      Division One 3.00 – 3.59
      Division Two 2.40 – 2.99
Third Class Honours 1.70 – 2.39
Pass 1.00 – 1.69

Honours classification may not be determined solely on the basis of a candidate’s Cumulative / Graduation GPA scores and the Board of Examiners for the degree may, at its absolute discretion and with justification, award a higher class of honours to a candidate deemed to have demonstrated meritorious academic achievement but whose Cumulative / Gradutation GPA falls below the aforementioned range of the higher classification by not more than 0.1 Grade Point (for students admitted to both the 3-year and 4-year curricula in the 2012-2013 academic year and thereafter). Starting from the 2016-2017 academic year second semester, Chief Examiners will be invited to recommend whether students to be awarded a higher class of honours for the consideration of the Board of Examiners’ based on the following principles:

  • Only students whose Cumulative GPA scores of all advanced level courses reach the cut-off point of the higher class honours classification (i.e. by not more than 0.1 Grade Point) will be considered;
  • Good performance in capstone experience / course; and
  • Demonstration of meritorious academic achievement, particularly in senior years.

For the details of the determination of honor classifications of BSocSc(Govt&Laws)&LLB double degree, please click here

Copyright © Faculty of Social Sciences, The University of Hong Kong