HKU Home Campus Map HKU Portal Employment Contact Us facebook instagram youtube

About the Faculty

The Faculty of Social Sciences was established in 1967 and has since undergone rapid expansion and significant transformation. The Faculty comprises the Departments of Geography, Politics and Public Administration, Psychology, Social Work and Social Administration, Sociology, and Journalism and Media Studies Centre. Through our focus on social innovation (SI) and global citizenship (GC), we also seek to contribute to the advancement of society and the development of leaders locally, regionally, and globally.

vision and mission

Vision and Mission

Leading provider of social sciences learning in Asia, strives to maintain and advance its position as an international.

Social Sciences Building

Social Sciences Building

The Jockey Club Tower, with its state-of-the-art learning spaces and research labs, is home to the Faculty of Social Sciences.



Statistics about staff, departments, research centres, graduates, employment destinations etc…

Copyright © Faculty of Social Sciences, The University of Hong Kong