

The Honourable Mrs Regina Ip, GBM, GBS, JP Convenor of the Non-official Members of the Executive Council, HKSAR Member, Legislative Council, HKSAR Chairperson, New People's Party

Biography

Regina IP LAU Suk Yee - B.A.-First Class Honor (University of Hong Kong), Master of Letters (University of Glasgow), Master of Science in Management (Stanford University), and Master of Art in East Asian Studies (Stanford University)

Mrs. Ip worked for the Hong Kong Government from 1975 to 2003. During that time, she served in a wide range of areas including democratization of local government, international trade and industry and security. She was the first woman to be appointed the head of a disciplined service (Immigration Department) (1996-98) and as Secretary for Security of Hong Kong (1998-2003).

In 2003 Mrs. Ip resigned from her position in the Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region to take her daughter to the U.S. for education and to pursue higher studies herself. In June 2006, she returned to Hong Kong after completing the MA program in East Asian Studies at Stanford University. In July 2006, she established Savantas Policy Institute, a think tank focused on tackling the twin structural constitutional and economic problems of Hong Kong. The core vision of Savantas is to transform Hong Kong into a knowledge-based economy.

In September 2008, Mrs. Ip was elected Legislative Council Member in the Hong Kong Island geographical constituency.

In January 2011, Mrs. Ip founded New People's Party and was elected the party chairperson. She was re-elected as Legislative Council Member in September 2012, 2016, and December 2021respectively.

In October 2012 and July 2017, Mrs. Ip was appointed as Non-Official Member of the Executive Council (ExCo).

In September 2015, she established the "Maritime Silk Road Society" (MSRS), and is now Co-Chair of the organization.

In December 2016, Mrs. Ip resigned from the Executive Council. She ran in both 2012 and 2017 Chief Executive elections.

She is currently the Convenor of the Executive Council for the sixth term of the HKSAR Government.