Home » Nature, Earth and Human - Mui Tsz Lam Art Revitalization Project

Nature, Earth and Human - Mui Tsz Lam Art Revitalization Project

Mui Tsz Lam, located in the northeastern part of the New Territories and adjacent to Lai Chi Wo, was built in 1661 with the history of nearly 400 years. This beautiful Hakka village is like a paradise but has been abandoned for a long time. In recent years, thanks to the efforts of the village chief, Mui Tsz Lam has restored its water and electricity supply and the fruit trees in the terraced fields.

With the theme of "Nature, earth and human", the project revitalizes Mui Tsz Lam through the establishments of cultural center, mural creations, art exhibitions, guided tours, workshops and lectures to enable the public understanding more about Mui Tsz Lam's natural ecology, humanity and Hakka culture. The cultural center, a revitalized old village house, embodies art exhibition areas, Hakka living areas, work spaces and Hakka shops, special exhibitions and workshops are held regularly. The mural creation was curated by the natural painter Human Ip. Painting on the exterior of a broken village house and children's playground facilities injects a new life into the village. The creation of murals is the collaborative efforts of villagers and schools in the district.

Through a series of activities, the project exhibits the original appearance of the village so that the public can deeply experience the atmosphere of rural ecology, art and culture and interact with the villagers, and be immersed in the natural scenery of Mui Tsz Lam, and experience the long history of Hakka village.

   

Project Team:

Project Proponent: Association for Sha Tau Kok Cultural and Ecology
Built on Sha Tau Kok, an enthusiast in cultural heritage and natural ecology, promotes the concept of cultural heritage, nature conservation and caring for the community.

Partner Organisation: Hong Kong Ecotourism & Travels Professional Training Center
Develop professional environmental and ecological training courses to enable students to understand the importance of environmental conservation.

Mural Curator: Ip Hiu Man, Human
Hong Kong writer and painter, graduated from the department of Chinese Language and Literature. She has held a solo exhibition " Sleepless Flower", " Flowers and一Animals in Urban Forests" and "In the Hills -Note on Hong Kong Plants and Animals". She is interested in countryside. In recent years, she has been devoted to nature writing. In 2014 and 2016, she released "In Search of Flora" and " In Search of Flora 2". At the end of 2017, she released the book "In Search of Fauna". Her latest novel in 2019 is based on Hong Kong's natural ecology and is called " Hermit in situ".

Executive Team: Charles Lee, Tammy Cheung, Norris Wong, Crystal Chan, SH Cheung

主頁 » 天、地、人 — 梅子林藝術活化計劃

天、地、人 — 梅子林藝術活化計劃

位於新界東北、鄰近荔枝窩的梅子林,於1661年建村,至今已有近四百年歷史。這條環境優美的客家古村仿如世外桃源,但荒廢多時,近年在村長努力復建下,梅子林恢復水電,屋前梯田重植果樹,生氣漸現。

本計劃以「天、地、人」為主題,透過設立文化中心、壁畫創作、藝術展覽、文化導賞團、工作坊和講座等活化梅子林古村,令人更加認識了解梅子林的自然生態、人文特色和客家文化。由老村屋復修改建的文化中心有藝術展覽區、客家生活區、工作空間和客家小店,定期舉辦專題展覽和工作坊。壁畫創作由自然畫家葉曉文擔任策展人,統籌粉飾破落的村屋外牆、兒童遊樂場設施和村內小路,為村落注入新生命。壁畫創作繪製皆有村民和區內學校參與,配合「天、地、人」主題,設計出展現梅子林生態文化特色的壁畫。

項目通過一系列的活動,回復古村本來面貌,令大眾深入體驗鄉郊生態、藝術、文化的氛圍,和村民互動,處身於梅子林的自然天地間,感受客家村落的悠久人文歷史。

   

項目團隊:

項目主導機構:沙頭角文化生態協會
建基沙頭角,凝聚對文化史蹟及自然生態有興趣的熱心人士,發揚文化傳承、自然保育和關顧社區的理念。

協辦機構:香港生態旅遊專業培訓中心
致力發展專業的環境生態培訓課程,令學員認識環境生態保育的重要性。

壁畫策展人葉曉文
香港作家及畫家,畢業於中文系。曾獲青年文學獎小說公開組冠軍。曾舉辦個人畫展《花未眠》、《城市森林中的花與牠》及《在山上:筆記香港動植物》。愛好自然郊野,近年投身自然書寫,2014年及2016年出版圖文著作《尋花》及《尋花2-香港原生植物手札》,2017年底推出動物相關著作《尋牠-香港野外動物手札》。2019年最新小說集以香港自然生態為題材,名為《隱山之人In situ》。

執行團隊:李以強、張單媚、黃若萍、陳渙晶、吳良貴