Home » Eco-production » Approach

Eco-production

Agriculture was once a very important industry for Hong Kong, especially before 1980s. It was also an indispensable part of local rural village culture. The decline of the agricultural industry in Hong Kong due to globalization of agricultural products and economic restructuring contributed to the loss of population and economic vibrancy of rural areas. Rural revitalisation could not be achieved without tackling the sustainable development of local agriculture.

 

Models

The agricultural revitalisation strategy includes the incubation of two new socio-economic models to enhance the long-term sustainability of rural villages:

 

Collaborator

Kong Yeah is an active partner for eco-production. They provide support in product development, brand building and facilitate farmers-producers-consumers communication on thematic and seasonal food related issues.


 

Eco-agriculture model

The eco-agriculture model aims to achieve an agricultural productivity level that sustains a viable local economy for the community while adopting nature-friendly production and farming methods. Mixed farming and Agroforestry techniques are employed to create more diverse, productive and ecologically-enhanced land use system at Lai Chi Wo. The model involves building a partnership among farm operators, ecologists, agricultural experts and land holders in order to incubate a new mode of sustainable agriculture model suitable for Hong Kong. 

The Farm

Operated by the project team, a project farm is set up on a 5,000 sq. meter revitalised farmland as a base for agroforestry research, product development and training. Local products include Coffee, Ginger and Turmeric. Training and placement opportunities are provided for passionate individuals who are eager to join the agricultural industry. For details, please contact 3917 4905 / ruralsd@hku.hk

 

 


 

Co-factory Model

The lack of processing support is one of the challenges in Hong Kong’s agricultural development. A new form of crop processing model is being developed to facilitate the crop production of Lai Chi Wo and, most importantly, to explore the socio-economic sustainability of local crop processing industry. A chain of Production-Processing-Marketing is formed by engaging farmers, producers, marketers and customers in the development of new farm products. The partnership could enhance production efficiency, and also promote stronger producer and consumer responsibility for our society.

 

Training and placement opportunities are provided for passionate individuals who are eager to support the development of local agriculture and processing business. For details, please contact 3917 4905 / ruralsd@hku.hk

 

Food processing recruitment

主頁 » 環境友善生產 » 生產方式

環境友善生產

八十年代之前,農業是香港的重要產業,同時亦是本地鄉村文化不可分割的一部分。農產品的全球化導致本港農業日漸式微,社會經濟轉型亦促使偏遠鄉村人口外流,並失去其經濟活力。因此,推動鄉村活化時亦不可忽略本地農業的永續發展。

 

模式

為了鞏固鄉村的永續發展,復興農業的策略包括建立以下兩種新的社區經濟模式︰

 

合作夥伴

港嘢是我們的綠色生產合作伙伴,致力研發加工農產品,建立本地品牌,及促進農夫-加工生產者-消費者之間就有關主題食物及時令食物等方面進行溝通。


 

生態農業

生態農業模式是以生態友善的農耕和生產方法達至一個足以維持當地社區經濟的農業生產規模。我們運用了混合農耕及農林間作等方式,在荔枝窩建立更多元化,更具生產力,以及更有益於生態的土地利用系統。這個生態農業模式推動農夫、生態學家、農業專家及土地業權人之間的合作關係,從而培育一個適合香港的永續農業新模式。 

 

農場

計劃農場約佔5,000平方米復耕農地,由計劃團隊管理,並作為農林間作研究、產品研發及培訓的基地。土產包括咖啡、肉薑和薑黃等。農場亦提供培訓及短期工作機會給有志投身農業的人士。如欲了解更多,請與我們聯絡(3917-4905 / ruralsd@hku.hk)。

 

 


 

農產銷合作鏈

缺乏食品加工業的支援是香港農業發展的挑戰之一。我們正培育一個新的農作物加工模式,促進荔枝窩的農作物生產,並探索在地食品加工的社區經濟模式。我們推動農夫、加工單位、營銷網絡及消費者參與農產品開發,建立生產-加工-營銷合作鏈。這個多方參與的合作關係將提升生產效率及香港社會的生產者及消費者責任感。

農場樂意提供培訓短期工作機會予於有志投身支持農業及農產加工業發展的人士。詳情請致電3917 4905 或電郵至ruralsd@hku.hk查詢。

 

社區加工隊成員招募