Home » About Programme » About Programme

HSBC Rural Sustainability

As an effort to combat the rapid loss of rural culture and environment in Hong Kong and beyond, Policy for Sustainability Lab (PSL) launched the multi-year cross-sectoral collaborative project “Sustainable Lai Chi Wo Programme” (project name in full: "Sustainable Lai Chi Wo: Living Water & Community Revitalization - An Agricultural-led Action, Engagement and Incubation Programme at Lai Chi Wo") in 2013 with the support from the Hongkong and Shanghai Banking Corporation Limited (HSBC). The Programme aims to replenish and revitalise the disappearing social and natural capital of the desolate, remote traditional farming landscape at Lai Chi Wo as an action model through an array of activities, ranging from agricultural rehabilitation and community revitalisation, to cultural reinvention, rural education, and biodiversity and hydrology-related research. Building upon the solid foundation of the Sustainable Lai Chi Wo Programme, which was successfully completed in September 2017, PSL has received further support from HSBC​ and launched a new phase of the programme – “HSBC Rural Sustainability” on October 01, 2017.

“HSBC Rural Sustainability” is a four-year programme which focuses on mobilising actions of the local community by socio-economic models emphasising the role of rural community for the benefit of the wider Hong Kong society. Based upon a collaborative and solidarity approach, these models will strengthen a viable sustainability model that can be replicated by nearby villages and similar rural areas in the region.


Lai Chi Wo in October 2017 (Photo credit: Kin-Ming Lau)
Read more about the village

 

Vision

The new project phases have the vision of contributing to the long-term vibrancy and sustainability for Hong Kong’s rural community and beyond. This involves scaling up the impacts that have been attained in the Sustainable Lai Chi Wo Programme (2013-2017). The new initiatives stress on the local implementation of the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals, with special focus on:

  • SDG 11: Sustainable Cities and Communities
  • SDG 12: Responsible Consumption and Production
  • SDG 17: Partnerships for the Goals

 

Key Outcomes
  • The incubation of socio-economic models and rural start-ups for rural revitalisation
  • The establishment of an Academy for Rural Sustainability to offer curriculum-based training and education programmes for the community
  • The compilation of a comprehensive sustainability assessment framework for the measurement of outcomes and impact of sustainability projects

 

Initiated by:

 

The Policy for Sustainability Lab (PSL) formally joined the Centre for Civil Society and Governance on May 1, 2019, and became one of the Centre’s major pillars. The mission of the Centre is to contribute to the attainment of a sustainable society through forging community-based and innovative solutions to social and environmental challenges. The work of the Centre is knowledge-based, with a focus on research, knowledge dissemination, and social impact. Under the overarching mission of the Centre, PSL aspires to promote and facilitate beneficial socio-ecological interactions as a way to attain sustainability.

主頁 » 關於計劃 » 計劃背景

滙豐永續鄉郊計劃

為傳承華南地區正急速消失的鄉郊文化和環境,永續坊在香港上海滙豐銀行有限公司支持下,於2013年開展了「永續荔枝窩」計劃(全名為「永續荔枝窩:農業復耕及鄉村社區營造計劃」)。這個為期多年的跨界別協作項目旨在透過農地復耕、社區活化、文化重塑、鄉郊教育和生物多樣性及水文研究等一系列活動,為偏遠沒落的荔枝窩傳統客家農村及文化景觀重新發掘其消失中的社會和自然資本並加以活化。「永續荔枝窩」計劃已於2017年9月圓滿結束。在這個基礎上,永續坊獲得滙豐進一步的支持,於2017年10月1日開展了計劃的新階段──「滙豐永續鄉郊計劃」。

「滙豐永續鄉郊計劃」為期四年,集中透過創新的社區經濟模式推動在地社區行動,並強調鄉郊社區為香港整體社會帶來的好處。我們以共同協作的手法,強化這些社區經濟模式,建立一個切實可行並可複製到鄰近村落和類似地區的永續發展模型。


2017年10月的荔枝窩(相片來源:劉建明)
了解更多有關荔枝窩村的資訊

 

願景

計劃新階段旨在促進香港乃至其他地區的鄉村社區的長遠活力和永續性。這包括進一步擴大「永續荔枝窩」計劃(2013-2017)對社會產生的影響。新倡議著重在香港實踐聯合國可持續發展目標,特別是:

  • 目標11:可持續的城市和社區
  • 目標12:負責任的消費
  • 目標17:可持續發展的合作

 

主要工作
  • 培育社區經濟模式和鄉郊初創企業,以推動鄉郊活化
  • 創辦永續社區學院,提供社區培訓課程和教育活動
  • 制定全面的永續發展評估框架,以量度永續發展項目的果效和影響

 

主辦機構

永續坊於2019年5月1日正式加入公民社會與治理研究中心,作為中心的重要支柱。中心以建構永續社會為使命,以社群為本的創新方案,應對不同的社會及環境挑戰。中心的工作以知識為本,聚焦於研究、知識傳播和創造社會效益。永續坊秉承中心的使命,致力提倡及促進社會和生態環境之間的良性互動,藉此邁向永續發展的目標。