The Way Forward: Voices of Parents and Youth
Introduction

We live in a world of rapid social, economic, political and technological change. With worldwide attention focused on the wellbeing of young people, there is an increasing recognition that parenting plays an important role in the development of our younger generation.  Clear policy priorities connecting parenting, family and community wellbeing have yet to be fully established.

This Conference will bring together human service practitioners, scholars, agency heads and policymakers in parenting, mental health and education to examine how best to support healthy parenting, as well as to introduce the latest knowledge and best practices from around the world.  To ensure a broad and balanced perspective, the Conference will feature local and international academics and parenting specialists, as well as parents and young people from the general public.  Parents, educators and health and social care professionals are also welcome.

Background

Parents face the burden of supporting their children throughout various stages of development, such as early childhood, school age and adolescence not to mention the pressure to become the perfect parents. The importance of strong social support in enabling the healthy development of our children and young people is well established. Yet, relationship building and nurturing between parents and children and adolescents, the connection between parenting, family life and the policy-making process received relatively little attention.

The wellbeing of young people is also a major public health concern, with recent World Health Organisation data indicating that suicide is now one of the top three causes of death in adolescents. As a consequence, the spotlight amongst advocates for mental health has turned to education, which is the area that has perhaps the most influence over the lives of young people. Concerns have been raised about the emphasis on standardized testing and narrow examination methods that can heap anxiety and stress on our children early on and on our young people.

All these pressures do not exist within a bubble. With an uncertain economic environment, the ever-changing and constant innovation of information communication technologies, and an increasingly globalized world, the pressures facing parents are phenomenal. Today’s parents need to not only nurture the development of their children in a rapidly changing world, but also to interact with increasingly complex education and health services. These issues present new questions and challenges for educators, human service professionals and policymakers.

The Conference

The conference is being proposed for October 2016 as a two and half-day event at the Centennial Campus of The University of Hong Kong. Key goals for the event will be the facilitating of knowledge exchange between stakeholders, and the identification of shared priorities for human service development and policymaking. To this end, and to ensure a balanced and well-rounded discussion, the conference will involve local and international professionals, as well as contributions from parents and young people.

Each day of the conference will be themed around a different stage or aspect of parenting, with keynote speeches from leading experts, and breakout sessions to facilitate sharing and interaction. These are being designed to offer value to policymakers, educators, human services professionals, social workers and parents. Pre-conference readings and short video clips will also be provided to delegates to help prepare them for the event and to support positive outcomes.

Critical Issues for Discussion
How is parenting affecting the healthy development of children?
How are the various stages of childhood development being impacted by changing economic, social, political and technological environments? What is the function of parents in the 21st century?
How does current policy involving parenting look? Where are the policy gaps?
How can different models of parenting inform social welfare and healthcare practices and policy priorities, and what can we learn from the frontier research in neuroscience and longitudinal studies?
What are the main challenges facing parents in special-consideration populations (such as children with disabilities, socio-economically deprived background and different types of parenting arrangement)?
Envisioned Outcomes
A snapshot of the most up-to-date research, practice-wisdom, guidance and policies concerning parenting in the 21st century.
Structured activities to facilitate knowledge exchange and service development concerning parenting.
Persuasive and balanced arguments and opinions on policy priorities, as a result of participation from all sides of the discussion (professionals, educators, parents and young people).
Leadership

With both Western and Eastern influences, Hong Kong is widely regarded as a hub for interdisciplinary knowledge transfer and for international conferences and events. Jointly organising the conference are the Tung Wah Group of Hospitals, the Faculty of Social Sciences (Strategic research theme- public policy [mental health]) and the Department of Social Work and Social Administration of The University of Hong Kong.

Founded in 1870, Tung Wah Group of Hospitals (TWGHs) was initially established as a Chinese medicine hospital with a mission of providing free medical treatments and medicines. Due to incomplete welfare policies of the colonial government, TWGHs provided not only medical services, but also free education, free funeral services and emergency aids to the Chinese. In 1931, Tung Wah Hospital, Kwong Wah Hospital and Tung Wah Eastern Hospital amalgamated to form the “Tung Wah Group of Hospitals”, a name has been in use since then, under the management of a single Board of Directors.

With rapid population growth and social changes in Hong Kong, services provided by TWGHs has been evolving, expanding to 292 service centres in 2015-16, covering Chinese and Western medical and health care, education and community services, taking care of various community needs from the cradle to the grave. Now the Group has more than 14,000 employees and an annual operation expense in excess of 6 billion Hong Kong dollars.

The organization has 205 community services centres (2015-16) across Hong Kong, serving the elderly, children, youth and families and person with special needs and disabilities.

The Faculty of Social Sciences is a leading provider of social sciences learning in Asia, strives to attract and nurture outstanding scholars in the social sciences from around the world through excellence and innovation in teaching and learning, research and knowledge exchange. Over the last 60 years, the Department of Social Work and Social Administration has grown to become the largest academic department in the Faculty of Social Sciences; has kept the social work education at the forefront of the changing social welfare landscape and is committed to improving the quality of life of people in Hong Kong and the region.

Highlights of the Conference
Youth Participation
Family and Youth Participatory Activity
Self-care Activity
Innovations and Inspirations
Cutting edge knowledge

即時報名     English
簡介

世界瞬息萬變,社會、經濟、政治和科技的變革不斷影響年輕人的成長和發展。當全球注意力都集中在年輕人的福祉上時,大家漸意識到親職教育對新一代的發展可謂至關重要。可惜的是,目前我們社會上仍欠缺將親職教育、家庭福祉和社區發展三者互相結合的整全政策和措施。
有見及此,是次會議將匯集一群本地和海外從事親職育兒、精神健康及教育專業的人士,以及相關學者、機構領導人及決策者,共同探討如何有效支援和實踐親職教育,同時從世界各地引進新知識及實務案例,以茲分享一眾有心人和家長。為令會議上討論的觀點更廣泛和持平,我們更邀請家長及年輕人參與討論。我們歡迎所有父母、教育工作者、醫療及社會工作專業人員參加會議,集思廣益。

背景

家長需要支援孩子不同階段包括幼兒期、學齡期和青春期的發展需要,加上渴望能成為孩子心中的「完美父母」,擔子極重。兒童及青少年的健康發展需要社區網絡大力支持,這點已得到社會人士的普遍認同。然而,父母與子女之間的關係建立及培育,以及在育兒措施、家庭生活及政策制定三者之間的銜接,卻相對較少受到大家關注。
青少年的福祉同樣是重要的公共健康議題。世界衛生組織數據顯示,自殺已成為頭三位導致青少年死亡的原因之一。因此,精神健康專業人士的焦點已落在可能影響年輕人生活至深的教育制度上。令人關注的是,單一的測驗標準以及狹隘的考試方法似乎不斷加重兒童及青年人的焦慮與壓力。
壓力不是抽象的概念。它切切實實的存在,在面對不明朗的經濟環境、日新月異的資訊科技,以至逐步全球化的世界的父母心中。今天家長不僅要培育孩子在這瞬息萬變的世界中成長,更要學習如何適應日益複雜的教育及醫療衛生制度。這些議題同樣對教育工作者、社會服務專業人士以及決策者構成新的挑戰。

會議

是次會議將於2016年10月在香港大學百周年校園舉行,為期兩天半。會議主要目的是為持份者建立一個匯聚和交流知識的平台,並為各項助人專業的服務發展及政策確立優先次序。為確保會議上的討論持平和全面,我們將廣邀本地及國際的專業人士,以及來自社區的家長和年輕人參與。

會議每天以不同階段或範疇的親職教育為主題,並由界別中最具權威和前瞻性的專家作專題演講,更設有分組討論環節,促進參加者彼此交流和學習,以開拓決策者、教育工作者、不同助人專業人士、社工及家長的視野。大會更提供會議前閱讀資料及視頻短片,以便與會者作好準備,積極參與討論。

關鍵議題
親職教育如何影響兒童的健康發展?
經濟、社會、政治及科技的變革如何影響兒童不同階段的發展?作為廿一世紀的家長,父母的角色與功能又是甚麼?
目前有什麼和親職教育相關的政策?政策又有什麼不足之處?
不同模式的親職教育如何影響社會福利、醫療服務與政策規劃之優次?我們從神經科學與追縱研究的發現中又能學到什麼?
要照顧有特殊需要的子女的父母(如兒女有身體障礙或來自貧窮家庭等)所面對的主要挑戰是甚麼?
預期成果
  • 概覽廿一世紀親職教育之最新研究、實踐智慧、指引與政策。
  • 透過有系統的活動促進有關親職教育的知識交流及服務發展。
  • 總結各方(包括專業人士、教育工作者、家長和青少年)之討論成果,提出具說服力兼持平之論據和政策優次意見。
主辦單位

作為東西方文化交匯點,香港被公認是跨學科知識轉移及國際會議和活動之樞紐。是次會議由東華三院、香港大學社會科學學院、社會工作及社會行政學系合辦。

東華三院於1870年成立,創院時是一間中醫院,以贈醫施藥為服務宗旨。由於早期的殖民地政府並沒有完善的福利政策,本院除為華人提供醫療服務外,還興辦義學、施棺贈殮及救急扶危。1931年,東華醫院、廣華醫院及東華東院統一由一個董事局管理,統稱「東華三院」,一直沿用至今。

隨著香港社會轉變及人口急速增長,東華三院的服務不斷發展,2015-16年度,已擴展至292服務單位,涵蓋中西醫療衛生、教育及社會服務,照顧市民生、老、病、死各方面需要。本院現有員工一萬四千多名,每年經常性開支超過60億港元。

社會服務方面,東華有205個(2015-16年度)服務單位遍佈全港,包括安老服務、青少年及家庭服務,以及復康服務。

香港大學社會科學學院提供之社會科學教育在亞洲居於領導地位,透過卓越及創新的教學、科研及知識交流,致力吸引並培育來自世界各地傑出的學者。在過去的60年間,社會工作及社會行政學系已發展成社會科學學院最大的學術部門。在不斷變化的社會福利環境下,保持前瞻性的社會工作教育,並致力改善香港市民和社區的生活質素。

會議亮點

青少年參與
家庭和親子活動
身心調適活動
創新啟示
嶄新知識